Literary magazine celebrates anniversary, book award winners announced

Celebrating the fiery fiftieth

Fifty years ago, writer and editor Askold Melnychuk founded AGNI, a literary magazine that ignites the fires of counterculture and international energy. In the half century of its existence, AGNI, now at Boston University, has published the work of several award winners – Ha Jin, E.C. Osondu, Seamus Heaney, Wisława Szymbourska, Jhumpa Lahiri, Tomas Tranströmer, Louise Glück, among others – as well as early work with sounds. new and upcoming. The editors work to “bring the reader to the moment of living, not as a tourist but as an active participant” and “are composed of writers who share the world within and around them, and shape their words so intimately that the ripples of their vision and the quirks of their thinking become part of the picture.” The magazine will celebrate its fiftieth anniversary. This Friday, November 4th. Former American poet Robert Pinsky will provide readings and performances from Tejo Cole, Jo Ann Bird, Victoria Cheng, Karen Palin, Chanda Feldman, and Boston-based Meridian 71 Music Project. The event takes place at 7 p.m. at WBUR CitySpace, 890 Commonwealth Ave. , Boston. Tickets are $5 to $25. For more information visit

A Mass honoring the authors

The Massachusetts Book Center recently announced the winners of this year’s Massachusetts Book Award, honoring books published in 2021 by authors who currently live in the state. The Fiction Prize was awarded to Ruth Ozeki of Northampton for her novel “The Book of Form and Nothingness. The Fictional Fiction Awards include Catherine Sherbrooke.leaving koi hill“The Buki Papillon”Ordinary wonder. Cambridge’s Tia Miles won a Non-Fiction Prize forAll I carried. The honor goes to Elizabeth Colbert.under a white skyand Nathaniel Philbrick.travels with george. Martin Espada of Shelburne Falls received the Poetry Award forfloats. Awards won by Leslie Newman includeI wish dad“Wammy Thomas”shivering. Rajani Laroca of Concorde wins YA Award forRed, White, and Whole. Prizes include Malinda Law.Last night at the telegraph clubMartin SandlerImagine a nation. In the picture book category, writer Tricia Elam Walker and illustrator Ecka Holmes from Boston won the award.dream street. The honor goes to Jacqueline Davis and Sonia Sanchez.Bubbles… UP!Maria Gianferrari and Felicita SalaBe a tree!The award ceremony will be held at the Presidential Palace on January 18th. For more information, visit

Walcott Poetry Prize

In other awards news, local Arrowsmith Press, in association with the Boston Playwrights Theater and Walcott Festival in Trinidad, recently announced the winner of the third annual Derek Walcott Poetry Prize, awarded to an entire book of poetry by a. Poet is not a US citizen. This year’s winner is Dzukoji’s friend for his group”Your cradle, before me(University of Nebraska). Dzukoji, born in Nigeria, is pursuing his Ph.D. in English from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Caroline Furchi, judge of the award, cites Dzukoji’s “beautiful common-sense of language” and “preliminaries of extraordinary clarity” in a collection centered on the deep grief, death of a child, for the ways one attempts to communicate in the aftermath. Thirty thousand leaves pray to nature / The air is fresh – and I pick apples / For my daughter. . . I entered my inner splendor / to keep her company and they continued to grow like two trees in a sterile field, a dream / marshmallows and my daughter is still alive.” Dzukogi will receive $1000 in prize.


Doctor noby Percival Everett (the gray wolf)

Toadby Catherine Dunn (MCD)

boostby Claire Keegan (grove)

Choose the week

Charlee Bianchini of the Bookstore of Gloucester recommendsThis is happinessBy Niall Williams (Bloomsbury): “This is, above all, a portrait of a community and all that it includes. In the little village of Faha the rain has stopped but the electricity is on its way. The story follows Noel and Christie and their records of lost and found love.”

Nina McLaughlin is the author of “Wake up, siren. It can be accessed at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *